Wisconsin Conservation Voters endorses first wave of candidates

Jun 15, 2020

MADISON – Wisconsin Conservation Voters is proud to announce its first wave of endorsements for candidates running for office in the Wisconsin State Legislature.

“Our endorsed candidates share our values: clean water, clean air, accessible public lands, an equitable, safe democracy, and the pursuit of clean energy,” said Executive Director Kerry Schumann. “We’re proud to endorse this most recent slate of candidates who will fight for a brighter, cleaner, more equitable Wisconsin.”

The Wisconsin Conservation Voters Board vets candidates through a questionnaire, a personal interview, and research on each prospective candidate and their campaigns.

Some of the candidates will face a primary challenge on Aug. 11 ahead of the General and Presidential Election on Nov. 3. Those candidates facing a primary are denoted by an asterisk below.

Wisconsin Conservation Voters endorses the following candidates:

Rep. Daniel Riemer for Assembly District 7
Rep. Robyn Vining for Assembly District 14
Rep. Kalan Haywood for Assembly District 16
Deb Andraca for Assembly District 23
Rep. Don Vruwink for Assembly District 43
Rep. Mark Spreitzer for Assembly District 45
Rep. Gary Hebl for Assembly District 46
Rep. Jimmy Anderson for Assembly District 47
Rep. Tip McGuire for Assembly District 64
Rep. Tod Ohnstad for Assembly District 65
Rep. Greta Neubauer for Assembly District 66
Rep. Katrina Shankland for Assembly District 71
Criste Greening for Assembly District 72
Rep. Beth Meyers for Assembly District 74
Rep. Lisa Subeck for Assembly District 78*
Rep. David Considine for Assembly District 81
Kristina Shelton for Assembly District 90*
Rep. Jodi Emerson for Assembly District 91
Rep. Steve Doyle for Assembly District 94
Rep. Jill Billings for Assembly District 95

Sen. LaTonya Johnson for Senate District 6*
Sen. Patty Schachtner for Senate District 10
Paul Piotrowski for Senate District 24
Jonathon Hansen for Senate District 30*

“As the General and Presidential Election moves closer, we will continue to endorse candidates who are committed to fight for our air, land, water, health and democracy,” Organizing and Political Director Seth Hoffmeister said. “With the future of Gov. Evers’ veto power in jeopardy as well as the future of clean energy policy, clean water policy, and voting rights, this election is one of the most important in the state’s history.”

For more information go to conservationvoters.org/elections.

Fore more information

Contact Ryan Billingham at ryan@conservationvoters.org or call 608-208-1129.