Wisconsin’s Best and Worst on the Environment

Feb 27, 2019

MADISON – Wisconsin Conservation Voters today released the Wisconsin Congressional delegation’s scores on the League of Conservation Voters’ 2018 National Environmental Scorecard.

The Scorecard is the primary yardstick for evaluating the environmental records of every member of Congress, and is available for download here, in Spanish here, and online at scorecard.lcv.org.

“As President Trump launched attack after attack on longstanding environmental protections, Sen. Ron Johnson refused to stand up for Wisconsin’s air, water, land, and wildlife,” said Executive Director Kerry Schumann. “Sen. Johnson scored a goose egg – zero percent. Meanwhile, Sen. Tammy Baldwin and Rep. Mark Pocan voted 100 percent of the time to protect the environment.”

In the House, four members from Wisconsin earned an abysmal score of 10 percent or less. Two of those also scored zeroes: Rep. Sean Duffy and Rep. Mike Gallagher. The 2019 Scorecard measures votes cast during the second session of the 115th Congress.

“It’s more important than ever for our representatives in Congress to fight for Wisconsin’s communities – without clean drinking water, fresh air, and abundant public lands, Wisconsinites suffer. Thankfully, we can count on Sen. Tammy Baldwin, Rep. Gwen Moore, Rep. Ron Kind, and Rep. Mark Pocan to push back. We’re determined to hold members of Congress accountable for putting polluters ahead of our families,” Schumann said.

The full delegation’s scores for 2018 are:

  • Senator Tammy Baldwin – 100 percent
  • Senator Ron Johnson – 0 percent
  • Representative Paul Ryan – 11 percent lifetime (speaker votes at their discretion)
  • Representative Mark Pocan – 100 percent
  • Representative Ron Kind – 89 percent
  • Representative Gwen Moore – 94 percent
  • Representative Jim Sensenbrenner – 6 percent
  • Representative Glenn Grothman – 3 percent
  • Representative Sean Duffy – 0 percent
  • Representative Mike Gallagher – 0 percent

For additional information

Contact Ryan Billingham, communications director, 608-208-1129 or ryan@conservationvoters.org