AB 415 : Entrenching Legislative Control Over Redistricting

Bill Description

To protect our health and the health of our planet voters must choose their representatives, not the other way around. Partisan redistricting works against that basic freedom by creating non-competitive districts that allow politicians who should represent their constituents to ignore the will of local voters. AB 415 would have worked against the goal of creating fair maps by gerrymandering district lines to protect incumbents.

Current Status

AB 415 was introduced on September 12, 2023, and referred to the Committee on Rules. It was not given a public hearing. It passed the Assembly on September 14, 2023.

On January 23, 2024, the Senate amended AB 415 to use it as a vehicle for gerrymandered legislative maps designed to protect Republican incumbents. The Senate passed AB 415 as amended, and sent the bill back to the Assembly. The Assembly passed AB 415 as amended on January 24, 2024. The Senate's January 23rd vote, and the Assembly's January 24th vote are recorded below.

Governor Evers vetoed AB 415 on January 30, 2024. Thank Governor Evers for vetoing AB 415.

Committee History

Committee Status
Senate Committee on Shared Revenue, Elections, and Consumer Protection Public Hearing Held
Assembly Committee on Rules No Public Hearing Held

Full Vote Data

Assembly: Passed

Senate: Passed

Governor: Vetoed

Legislator District Bill Vote Conservation Vote
Sinicki, Christine AD20 Nay
Mursau, Jeffrey AD36 Yea
Vos, Robin AD63 Yea
Petersen, Kevin AD40 Yea
Krug, Scott AD72 Yea
Tranel, Travis AD49 Yea
August, Tyler AD32 Yea
Petryk, Warren AD93 Yea
Doyle, Steve AD94 Nay
Brooks, Robert AD60 Yea
Billings, Jill AD95 Nay
Swearingen, Rob AD34 Yea
Born, Mark AD39 Yea
Murphy, David AD56 Yea
Schraa, Michael AD53 Yea
Spiros, John AD86 Yea
Tittl, Paul AD25 Yea
Goyke, Evan AD18 Nay
Ohnstad, Tod AD65 Nay
Riemer, Daniel AD07 Nay
Shankland, Katrina AD71 Nay
Neylon, Adam AD98 Yea
Rodriguez, Jessie AD21 Yea
Allen, Scott AD97 Yea
Brandtjen, Janel AD22 Yea
Considine, Dave AD81 Nay
Edming, James AD87 Yea
Katsma, Terry AD26 Yea
Kitchens, Joel AD01 Yea
Macco, John AD88 Yea
Novak, Todd AD51 Yea
Steffen, David AD04 Yea
Subeck, Lisa AD78 Nay
Vander Meer, Nancy Lynn AD70 Yea
Duchow, Cindi AD99 Yea
Anderson, Jimmy AD47 Nay
Pronschinske, Treig AD92 Yea
Snyder, Patrick AD85 Yea
Summerfield, Rob AD67 Yea
Tusler, Ron AD03 Yea
Wichgers, Chuck AD82 Yea
Zimmerman, Shannon AD30 Yea
Neubauer, Greta AD66 Nay
Gundrum, Rick AD58 Yea
Plumer, Jon AD42 Yea
Cabrera, Marisabel AD09 Nay
Dittrich, Barbara AD38 Yea
Emerson, Jodi AD91 Nay
Haywood, Kalan AD16 Nay
Kurtz, Tony AD50 Yea
Magnafici, Gae Leila AD28 Yea
Myers, LaKeshia AD12 Nay
Oldenburg, Loren AD96 Yea
Sortwell, Shae AD02 Yea
Stubbs, Shelia AD77 Nay
Vining, Robyn AD14 Nay
Wittke, Robert AD62 Yea
McGuire, Tip AD64 Nay
Andraca, Deb AD23 Nay
Armstrong, David AD75 Yea
Baldeh, Samba AD48 Nay
Callahan, Calvin AD35 NV
Conley, Sue AD44 Nay
Dallman, Alex AD41 Yea
Drake, Dora AD11 Nay
Hong, Francesca AD76 Nay
Moore-Omokunde, Supreme AD17 Nay
Moses, Clint AD29 Yea
Ortiz-Velez, Sylvia AD08 Nay
Rozar, Donna AD69 Yea
Shelton, Kristina AD90 Nay
Snodgrass, Lee AD57 Nay
Behnke, Elijah AD89 Yea
Penterman, William AD37 Yea
Anderson, Clinton AD45 Nay
Bare, Mike AD80 Nay
Binsfeld, Amy AD27 Yea
Bodden, Ty AD59 Yea
Clancy, Ryan AD19 Nay
Donovan, Bob AD84 Yea
Goeben, Joy AD05 Yea
Green, Chanz AD74 Yea
Gustafson, Nate AD55 Yea
Hurd, Karen AD68 Yea
Jacobson, Jenna AD43 Nay
Madison, Darrin AD10 Nay
Maxey, Dave AD15 Yea
Michalski, Tom AD13 Yea
Nedweski, Amanda AD61 Yea
O'Connor, Jerry AD52 Yea
Palmeri, Lori AD54 Nay
Ratcliff, Melissa AD46 Nay
Rettinger, Nik AD83 Yea
Sapik, Angie AD73 Yea
Schmidt, Peter AD06 Yea
Schutt, Ellen AD31 Yea
Joers, Alex AD79 Nay
Johnson, Scott AD33 Yea
Legislator District Bill Vote Conservation Vote
Roys, Kelda SD26 NV
Smith, Jeff SD31 Nay
Wirch, Robert SD22 Nay
Knodl, Dan AD24 Yea
Ballweg, Joan A. SD14 Nay
Cowles, Robert SD02 Yea
Taylor, Lena SD04 Nay
Carpenter, Tim SD03 Nay
Nass, Steve SD11 Yea
Wanggaard, Van SD21 Yea
Jacque, Andre SD01 Yea
Kapenga, Chris SD33 Nay
Marklein, Howard SD17 Yea
Larson, Chris SD07 Nay
Stroebel, Duey SD20 Yea
Felzkowski, Mary SD12 NV
Hutton, Rob SD05 Yea
Jagler, John SD13 Yea
Johnson, LaTonya SD06 Nay
Hesselbein, Dianne Helen SD27 Nay
Agard, Melissa SD16 Nay
Quinn, Romaine SD25 Yea
Spreitzer, Mark SD15 Nay
Stafsholt, Rob SD29 Yea
Feyen, Dan SD18 Yea
Testin, Patrick SD24 Yea
James, Jesse SD23 Yea
Bradley, Julian SD28 Nay
Pfaff, Brad SD32 Nay
Wimberger, Eric SD30 Nay
Cabral-Guevara, Rachael SD19 Yea
Tomczyk, Cory SD29 Yea