SB 541 & AB 579 : Selling Our Shoreline

Bill Description

Under the Wisconsin Constitution, our waters belong to all of us. Public access to our shoreline is a right that must be protected into the future, for all people. SB 541 & AB 579 would violate our Public Trust Doctrine by permanently turning over our shoreline to private developers and allowing them to restrict access.

Current Status

AB 579 was introduced on October 31, 2023, and referred to the Assembly Committee on Environment. A public hearing was held on November 30, 2023. The bill passed out of committee on January 11, 2024, and passed the Assembly by voice vote on January 25, 2024.

SB 541 was introduced on October 23, 2023, and referred to the Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Energy. A public hearing was held on November 15, 2023. An amended version of the bill passed out of committee on February 8, 2024, and passed the Senate on February 13, 2024. The Assembly passed the amended version of SB 541 via voice vote on February 21, 2024. On March 27, 2024, Governor Evers signed SB 541 into law as 2023 Wisconsin Act 247.

Committee History

Committee Status
Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Energy Passed
Assembly Committee on Environment Passed

Full Vote Data

Assembly: Passed by Voice Vote

Senate: Passed

Governor: Signed Into Law

Legislator District Bill Vote Conservation Vote
Roys, Kelda SD26 Nay
Smith, Jeff SD31 Nay
Wirch, Robert SD22 Yea
Knodl, Dan AD24 Yea
Ballweg, Joan A. SD14 Yea
Cowles, Robert SD02 Yea
Carpenter, Tim SD03 Nay
Nass, Steve SD11 Yea
Wanggaard, Van SD21 Yea
Jacque, Andre SD01 Yea
Kapenga, Chris SD33 Yea
Marklein, Howard SD17 Yea
Larson, Chris SD07 Nay
Stroebel, Duey SD20 Yea
Felzkowski, Mary SD12 Yea
Hutton, Rob SD05 Yea
Jagler, John SD13 Yea
Johnson, LaTonya SD06 Nay
Hesselbein, Dianne Helen SD27 Nay
Agard, Melissa SD16 Nay
Quinn, Romaine SD25 Yea
Spreitzer, Mark SD15 Nay
Stafsholt, Rob SD29 Yea
Feyen, Dan SD18 Yea
Testin, Patrick SD24 Yea
James, Jesse SD23 Yea
Bradley, Julian SD28 Yea
Pfaff, Brad SD32 Nay
Wimberger, Eric SD30 Yea
Cabral-Guevara, Rachael SD19 Yea
Tomczyk, Cory SD29 Yea