SB 139 & AB 137 : Setting an Arbitrary Wolf Population Goal in Statute

Bill Description

The main goal of wolf management in Wisconsin should be to move towards an outcome-based management plan where there is a healthy wolf population, while minimizing depredations. The DNR has engaged in a multi-year, diverse stakeholder process that brought together hunters, farmers, conservationists, and tribal governments to develop such a plan. SB 139 & AB 137 work against this goal by requiring the Department of Natural Resources to establish a numeric statewide wolf population goal in statute. This undermines the ability of the DNR to balance multiple goals and respond to the changing populations.

Current Status

SB 139 was introduced on March 23, 2023, and referred to the Senate Committee on Financial Institutions and Sporting Heritage. A public hearing was held on September 21st, 2023. The bill passed out of committee on September 28, 2023, and passed the full Senate on October 17, 2023. AB 137 was introduced on March 31, 2023, and referred to the Assembly Committee on Sporting Heritage. A public hearing was held on November 8, 2023, and the bill passed out of committee on November 15, 2023. The Assembly passed SB 139 by voice vote on January 25, 2024. Governor Evers vetoed SB 139 on March 29, 2024.

Thank Governor Evers for vetoing SB 139.

Committee History

Committee Status
Senate Committee on Financial Institutions and Sporting Heritage Passed
Assembly Committee on Sporting Heritage Passed

Full Vote Data

Assembly: Passed by Voice Vote

Senate: Passed

Governor: Vetoed

Legislator District Bill Vote Conservation Vote
Roys, Kelda SD26 Nay
Smith, Jeff SD31 Nay
Wirch, Robert SD22 Nay
Knodl, Dan AD24 Yea
Ballweg, Joan A. SD14 Yea
Cowles, Robert SD02 Yea
Taylor, Lena SD04 NV
Carpenter, Tim SD03 Nay
Nass, Steve SD11 Yea
Wanggaard, Van SD21 Yea
Jacque, Andre SD01 Yea
Kapenga, Chris SD33 Yea
Marklein, Howard SD17 Yea
Larson, Chris SD07 Nay
Stroebel, Duey SD20 Yea
Felzkowski, Mary SD12 Yea
Hutton, Rob SD05 Yea
Jagler, John SD13 Yea
Johnson, LaTonya SD06 Nay
Hesselbein, Dianne Helen SD27 Nay
Agard, Melissa SD16 Nay
Quinn, Romaine SD25 Yea
Spreitzer, Mark SD15 Nay
Stafsholt, Rob SD29 Yea
Feyen, Dan SD18 Yea
Testin, Patrick SD24 Yea
James, Jesse SD23 Yea
Bradley, Julian SD28 Yea
Pfaff, Brad SD32 Nay
Wimberger, Eric SD30 Yea
Cabral-Guevara, Rachael SD19 Yea
Tomczyk, Cory SD29 Yea